They’ve arrived

Bonding with a little chick

Bonding with a little chick

Today has one stand out highlight, with no competition. The chicks have arrived!! I went over to visit them this afternoon. They are so cute.

So far eight out of twenty-one have hatched, they are happily sitting in a little box, wandering around and cheeping enthusiasticly. I was surprised how noisy they are, you can hear them from the next room. I gave them lots of cuddles and was rewarded by one of them falling asleep in my hands – very exciting!

A friendly baby chick (I'm really being very gentle, not strangling it!)

A friendly baby chick (I'm really being very gentle, not strangling it!)

They are so tiny and new that they keep falling asleep, they flop right over with their heads on the floor. At first this caused me a bit of distress, they looked like they were dying, but all was well, they just like to take a nap.

Leave a Reply

